New Year, New Resolutions

You know what I love about the New Year? The chance to wipe the slate clean and set some goals for a new year… complete with a written list. Because there is little that I love more than a list – especially when I can cross some items off the list at the end of the year. Before I share this year’s resolutions, let’s see how I did on the batch from last year:

1. Exercise 4 days a week. This was going a LOT better before I ran headlong into my first holiday season in the retail industry. Not a total fail, but room for improvement.

2. Learn how to say no without feeling guilty. Epic fail. I said yes to a plethora of things I had no desire to do and was wracked with my usual sense of guilt. It may be a hopeless cause.

3. Watch less TV so I can get more done. Well, I definitely watched less TV. But the “getting more done” I had in mind wasn’t putting in more hours at work, so I am going to call this a fail, too.

4. Make the living room feel more like “us”. Definitely made some good progress here, although the “mini-makeover” I was aiming for turned out to be a lot pricier than I had envisioned. We traded out grubby carpet for hardwood floors, DIYed an upholstered ottoman, installed bamboo blinds, and rearranged the furniture, taking us from “Then” to “Now”. I’m still saving my pennies for a spacious new sectional, and the generic tree art over the sofa is begging for something a little more personal.

Then

living-1

Now

chevron_1

5. Blog twice a week, without going crazy. Another F for failure.

Ok, so. Last year, not an overwhelming success. There’s always this year!

Happy New Year 2013

1. Walk Steve 3 times a week. That’s the dog. You might be thinking to yourself, “How is it possible that you don’t already do this, you rotten pet owner?” The simple answer is that walking Steve is a lot like attaching the Tasmanian Devil to the end of a string and praying your limbs don’t get ripped off. See the look in his eyes? That’s pure crazy, my friends.

Steve

2. Exercise for 5 hours a week. Being sedentary at a desk for so many hours a day really makes me realize the importance of moving!

3. Eat less sugar & dessert. I am a sugar addict. In an effort to actually make this resolution a success, I cut a little deal with myself… if I can go dessert-free for 90 days, I will earn a yard of the insanely overpriced fabric I’ve been lusting after for months, so I can whip up a pair of pillow covers. Of course, the other problem will be choosing a colorway.

Chiang_Mai_Blue Chiang_Mai_Aquamarine

Schumacher’s Chiang Mai Dragon fabric in China Blue and Aquamarine. Pillows from Etsy seller Pop O’ Color.

4. Finish the kitchen. Although we upgraded the floors to my favorite herringbone pattern, we have to refill the coffers before diving into a kitchen redo. Fingers crossed that we’ll be ready to roll on the kitchen project by this summer!

Then

kitchen-1

Now

Tiling23

5. Improve work-life balance. Fewer hours behind a desk, and more hours with my family and doing things I enjoy!

6. Drink more water. I think I am at least part camel, because I appear to have no need whatsoever for water intake. Buuuut, it’s good for me, so I should make an effort.

6 Comments

Filed under Round Up, The Lottery House

6 responses to “New Year, New Resolutions

  1. Erika

    Congratulations! I think you will succeed! And, I have to say, I have looked at a few other blogs lately, and…sigh…they are terrible! Your writing and humor are my fav! And, I doesn’t even matter what you write about! I love it all! So, before etching that ‘F’ in stone for your blog, you must know that I enjoyed every bit of it! Oh, and btw…last months half marathon was not the same without you! Maybe that can be on your list for 2013, going running with us sometime! πŸ™‚

  2. Crazy-Eyed Cube-Mate

    Oh – you DID write a blog post! My very bad.

  3. Lauren R.

    We have the Chiang Mai Dragon in Aquamarine in our bedroom and love it. Have you seen the new Peacock prints? I’m dying over one of the shades…

Leave a Reply

