Dangerous Business

Making assumptions is a dangerous business. Evidently there is some truth in the old adage about assumptions making an arse out of you and me (is swearing on a blog less bad if you take the British approach?).

Anyhoo, I was gabbing with my coworker and fellow blogger recently while she was checking out my newly minted curtain post. She said, “I like those! But what’s going on here?”, as she pointed to the enormous swatch of daylight pouring in the uncovered top half of our window.


Enter: assumption #1 – that y’all would automatically know that the reason we have a full window only half-covered by blinds. So let’s take a look at what our enormous window looks like with the curtains pulled back. Pardon the horrific pictures, mmkay?



Oh, yes. That’s why the window is half-covered. And why the curtains must always be pulled partially across the window. Because the window:

  1. Has curved sides
  2. Is crooked relative to the ceiling and the floor

Have I mentioned that I HATE curved windows? At least, curved windows that are also crooked OR cannot accommodate a straight curtain rod due to architectural issues. That’s the case in our dining room, where we are currently rocking the world’s ugliest sunburst shade. Ew. But thanks to the big drops in the ceiling on either side of the arch, we won’t be rocking a straight curtain rod there unless I come up with a brilliant workaround.


The double-whammy of a design dilemma in our living room had been vexing me since we moved in. Then my super-design-savvy friend, Tu, installed some bamboo shades in her newly-remodeled house. Mounting a Roman shade outside of the crooked ’n’ curved window was the perfect solution – the imperfections would be hidden, and the nekkid top half of the window would now be appropriately covered. Just one little problem: the window was so long and wide that covering it was going to cost a cool $267, even using Tu’s super-affordable source (Just Blinds). Cue sad music.

Then I stopped by Overstock.com to see what my old friends had by way of bamboo shades. People, Overstock has a PLETHORA of bamboo shades in all sizes and colors – peep them here. For a song. I snagged 3 separate panels, since that’s what our enormously wide window requires – one 48-inch shade for the center of the window, to be flanked by 31-inch panels on either side. Total price tag? $145, including shipping. Still not super cheap, but if this solution works… I am gonna be a happy camper. Here’s a peak of the shades I chose:

And in case you’re assuming that I ordered these blinds because we’ve already finished installing our last Overstock find (pretty hanging lanterns to replace our boobalicious hall lights)… well, you know what they say about making assumptions.

PS – Before I leave you, allow me to share my second faulty assumption of the past week or so: namely, when I received an email from Joann’s, touting their new custom sewing services, that said services would be affordable. I gleefully crafted a pillow, just for giggles – but the final price tag of $143 stopped me in my tracks. For a 16 x 16 pillow. Um, no?

1 Comment

Filed under Projects, The Lottery House

One response to “Dangerous Business

  1. Pingback: 5 Amazing DIY Projects | thelotteryhouse

Leave a Reply

