Weekend Wrap-Up

Putting things out there in the blogosphere is like publicly announcing when you are going on a diet. Then you eat a Reese’s peanut butter cup (or 7), and everyone is eyeballing you wondering what happened to your diet. So excuse me while I have one of those moments and tell you that although I may have announced that I was going to spend my weekend painting on an enormous piece of DIY artwork for over the sofa… I spent all of zero minutes on this project.

Lest you think that I was laying about, snacking on bonbons all weekend, here’s the rundown on what we Lottery Housers spent our weekend doing. On Friday night, we enjoyed a rare double date with friends of ours. We ate some a-mazing pizza from Coal Vines (if you are a Dallas-ite and you haven’t been, step away from the computer and run, don’t walk, to your nearest location) and followed it up with cupcakes from SugarBox, which were ALSO fabulous, and drinks at a nearby bar. We made it to bed later than planned, which meant the 6 am alarm clock on Saturday morning was extra painful. We shook the sleep off and headed down to Plano to catch a train to Dallas’ St. Patrick’s Day festivities. We started with the 5K Dash Down Greenville, followed closely by celebratory beers. That’s me in the middle, wearing my sun disguise.

After the parade, we made our way back north, which is when the real fun commenced: the hubs and I spent the rest of the afternoon and ALL of Sunday weeding the yard. I hear you wondering to yourself – how can they have SO many weeds in such a small yard? Points for anyone who answered “miracle”. Just to give you a not-so-small sampling of what we were dealing with:


The hubby removed this weed of prehistoric proportions (and many of its siblings) from our very own backyard. Impressive, I know.

The upside is, after all that weeding, pulling, and trimming, we’re ready to tackle my favorite spring task: planting flowers, closely followed by mulching. Nothing like a fresh layer of mulch to make your yard look polished!

How did you celebrate St. Patty’s Day? Is your yard looking as weed-ridden as ours?

6 Comments

Filed under The Lottery House

6 responses to “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Lauren R.

    I miss St. Paddy’s Day on Greenville 🙂 Use the weed sheet guards- they’re not expensive and they really do keep away the pesky weeds!

    • You are so right about that weed fabric, it’s a miracle worker. The problem we are fighting right now is our yard is so full of weeds – it’s gone waaaay past the flower beds. Who’s got a sore back and two black thumbs? This girl!!

  2. Jenn

    i still can’t believe y’all were up at 6 am! and that is the biggest weed i have every seen!!

  3. My yard is SO weed-ridden. It’s a pretty sad story. I put down some serious weed and feed Saturday with my brand spanking new wheeled seed granule dropper thing…oh how sad when I get excited about such contraptions, ha! That stuff better do some serious mutilating to the weeds that have taken over what used to be grass before we ever moved into the house…ahem…3 years ago. I know, I know! Here’s to weed killer, woo!

Leave a Reply

