Sometimes You Just Know

Often, when I’m mid-project and the pieces don’t seem to come together exactly right, I turn into the human form of Eeyore – mopey, gloomy, and discouraged. Our living room project has been slow going, and the pieces that I originally loved – including the Etsy pillow that inspired this whole switcheroo – just haven’t worked in the space. A few weeks ago, I tentatively asked the hubby if he would be open to using a berry pink as an accent color in the living room. Much to my surprise, he was totally open to it. So that put a little pep back in my step. This weekend I snagged some shocking pink acrylic paint and got a piece of PureBond formaldehyde-free plywood trimmed to size, ready to take on the challenge of creating a David-Bromstad-esque piece of abstract art. Time ran away from me, so I didn’t knock it out last weekend, but I did gather some inspiration images from the ever-helpful Pinterest.


Pinned from here


Pinned from here via this blog

Pinned from here

Plus this superfun painting by David Bromstad (yes, it’s even better because David AND Nate are posing in the forefront – love!).

With my accent color picked out, it’s time to choose some fabric for my pillows. Last time I stopped by my favorite fabric website (Premier Prints), I was thrilled to see their new designer section – ripe with lots of navy and berry-colored prints. A few options I am loving:


Carnival Print in Grapevine/Dosset Colorway


Ikat Dots in Sunshine/Blue Natural Colorway


Zig Zag in Blue/Twill Colorway

Then, last night, I was peeping one of my favorite blogs – Conspicuous Style – and came across an amazing space (designed by Mary McDonald) that totally reaffirmed my pink & navy passion.

It literally felt like this image had been pulled right out of my daydreams – right down to the navy blue wall & carrara marble surrounding the fireplace, which I’ve been dying to do, and the pink abstract art.

So, thanks to a little blog surfing, I’ve shaken off the Eeyore and I’m back on track.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, Projects, The Lottery House

Leave a Reply

