Let’s Chat!

Before we get into the meat of today’s post, quick update on the ottoman: we’re currently on coat #3 of stain, and still looking way lighter than planned. I’m hoping to get to that deep, chocolatey shade I’m envisioning with a little patience – and a lot more coats – this weekend. I’m also still on the lookout for the perfect fabric. I’d love to snag something like this One King’s Lane number, which landed in my inbox today ($549, in case you’re interested).

For now,  let’s head back to our regularly scheduled programming.

When I first started this blog, I had no idea how challenging – or how rewarding – it would be. I’d handily consumed mass amounts of content from my favorite blogs, like Young House Love, and figured miraculously producing posts 3 or 4 times a week would be a snap. I’m not sure the term “wrong” even covers how insanely inaccurate my assumption was. I’ve settled in to 2 posts a week, because it’s a pace I can maintain without becoming a complete hermit or driving myself crazy with last minute projects – even though I know it’s less than ideal from a reader’s perspective. Writing, image gathering, and Photoshopping for each post takes about 2 hours, plus time to do the project.

So, while hammering out posts isn’t exactly a breeze, this blog has also been an amazing, fun experience for me. I’ve gotten to spend lots of time with the hubby and my stepdaughter, building, painting, and thinking through projects. Our favorite to-date is still the mini-cemetery we created in our front yard for Halloween.

Beyond giving our little family a great excuse to spend time together NOT in front of the television, it’s also been an awesome way to reconnect with old friends and meet new friends. Awhile back, a high school friend posted a picture of herself in a fur coat on Facebook, and when I commented on how cute it was, she responded to say that I’d be proud because it was a thrift store find. It was such a sweet moment for me to feel connected to someone I haven’t had much occasion to see over the years, just by virtue of this little blog.

One of the things I’d like to see this blog grow into is more of a place for conversation. I’d love to link up with local DFW crafters , and I’ve got big visions of an all-girls’ weekend DIY club. But I’d also like to chat more with my online-only friends. So, to get this conversation started, tell me what you’d like to see more of on this blog:

  • Crafts
  • DIY/remodeling projects
  • Design advice
  • Mood boards
  • Inspiration images
  • Recipes
  • A peek into our family life
  • All or none of the above

Thanks for reading. Y’all are awesome.

6 Comments

Filed under The Lottery House

6 responses to “Let’s Chat!

  1. Lauren R.

    Just came back from lunch and was catching up on my Google Reader…it has been so nice to reconnect with you too! You are your husband are talented! Oh that fur coat, I actually need to find a local furrier to givethe lining some TLC! I’m anxious to see the results of your ottoman. My husband has some carpentry skills and recently made me a Crate & Barrel knock off shelf for our kitchen that you should see. Next project we’re taking on is an upholstered headboard {with nail trim- eek!} before the in-laws come for a visit this spring. And an answer to your questions is I’d like to see All of the Above 🙂

    • I can’t wait to see some of your projects! Are you doing nail head trim on a roll, or the individual kind? For our first headboard attempt, I used the kind on a roll. It was super easy – I did it in a few hours, while watching Modern Family and enjoying a glass (or two) of wine!

  2. I’d say all of the above! 🙂

  3. I love reading what you write! You could write about anything, and I know I’ll enjoy it! And, I love pictures! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

