Insanely Cute DIY Bookmarks

I’ve spent the majority of my life with my nose stuck in a book. So, when one of my running buddies (Erika, the massage therapist that saved me from a life of being hunch-backed) sent over an email with some amazingly inspirational bookmarks, I knew I had to try my hand at making some of these tiny felted fellas. The originals can be found in Willowfolk’s Etsy shop, in case you’d rather snag a pair online!

If you’d like to make your own, here are the basic instructions!

Supplies

  • Felt
  • Cotton batting (or cotton balls, if you are too lazy to go to the store… like I was)
  • Coated paperclips in colors that coordinate with your felt
  • Thread to match your felt, plus a needle
  • Hot glue
  • Optional: embroidery thread, beads, wooden shapes, or anything else you can think of to embellish your little friends

1. Fold your felt in half and sketch your design on one side. Then cut your design out, keeping the felt folded, so you get both sides of your bookmark cut at once. This is the lazy way out (are you noticing a theme here?).

2. If you are going to add embroidery or beads to one side of your bookmark, do this now. I also stitched on my mouse’s ear in this step. If your felt has any leftover markings from your original sketch, be sure to embroider or bead the OPPOSITE side so you can hide the ugly bits on the inside.

3. Match up your two shapes and stitch 3/4 of the way around.

4. Fill your bookmark with cotton batting or cotton balls. You can make it as poofy as you like, as long as you can still close the seam!

5. Stitch the shape closed. Tie your thread off.

6. Attach your coordinating paperclip to the back of your bookmark. Add a few stitches to hold it into place. Yes, I made a small army of bookmarks.

7. Cut a small U-type shape out of your felt to cover the top of the paperclip. A rectangle also works!

8. Hot glue your felt shape over the top of your paperclip, and you’re done!

Now you can head to the couch and kick it with your favorite book.

This project does take a little patience, and I went through a few epic fails before I landed on these successful designs. In my humble opinion, the adorable outcome was worth a few epic fails along the way!

This leaf’s veining is just some basic embroidery – and in case you can’t tell from the stitches, I have never embroidered anything before!

The only fancy thing about my little mouse is his bead-y (I couldn’t resist) eye. Just stitch it on!

This little guy was a bit trickier. I cut out 4 pieces: 2 pieces for the top of the mushroom, and two for the stem. I started by stitching along the arc of the mushroom, and then adding stuffing. For the stem, I elected to go stuffing-free and just sewed both pieces together. Then I laid the stem inside the open hem of the mushroom top and stitched it shut.  The mushroom’s polka dots are tiny, painted wood circles from Michaels that I hot glued on.

Basic shapes, like leaves, hearts, or this super-cute sun that my stepdaughter made are great places to start. The rays are painted toothpicks.

Happy crafting… and reading!

Linking to Remodelaholic!

3 Comments

Filed under DIY Tips, Projects, The Lottery House

3 responses to “Insanely Cute DIY Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

