Pinterest Project: Heart Art for a Cause

When the folks over at YHL announced a Pinterest Challenge, I instantly knew which project I wanted to mark off my Pinterest to-do list – this super cool, 3D heart art, originally from thedesignerpad.com.

I’d been itching to try this project for ages, but didn’t have a designated landing spot for the finished product, so I commenced my usual foot-dragging. Then I received an email from a high school friend, looking for art for an auction benefitting a national charity. Cassie and her husband lost their baby boy, Elijah, earlier this year, and this event is being held in his honor to raise money for Ronald McDonald House. Since I’m not an artist by any stretch of the imagination, and because the underlying theme of this artwork is love, I thought this would be the perfect project to create for the cause.

I needed a few supplies to get started:

  1. A shadow box picture frame (I found mine at Michael’s)
  2. Card stock in charcoal grey (for the backgound) and white (for the hearts)
  3. Scissors
  4. Basic white glue
  5. Photo mounting tabs
  6. Pencil and eraser
  7. Ruler (or two, depending on how particular you are… I may or may not have had 3 rulers in action at one point)

To get the size of my background piece right, I traced around the outside edge of the matting. After cutting it out, I used photo mounting tabs to attach it to the removable back piece of the picture frame.  Next up was making two heart templates: big and small. My big template was slightly more than twice as tall as the small fella. When it came time to trace my templates onto my white cardstock, I just used the old kindergarten heart making method. I folded my white cardstock in half, and then traced half of my heart template on one side of the fold. Then I just cut along the line. Cutting your hearts this way means half as much cutting, plus each heart already has a perfect fold right down the middle. After lots and lots of tracing and cutting, my hand was feeling a little claw-like, but my table was looking like this.

With a big pile of hearts ready to roll, I laid out my first row on the cardstock to get an idea of what the final placement would look like. With a little tweaking, the army of tiny hearts was looking glue-ready.


I dabbed a bit of glue on each heart, until the whole lot was firmly glued to my charcoal cardstock.


A few tips, based on my own mishaps:

  1. Mark a border on each side so you’ll know exactly where to end each row
  2. Use a ruler under the row you’re gluing to stay on the straight and narrow
  3. Test your placement twice… glue once. Cutting 64 tiny hearts more than once is not recommended. Yes, I am speaking from experience.

After letting my art dry for awhile, it was ready to pop in to the frame. Here’s my completed Heart Art for Eli.




I love that it’s both graphic and sweet, and the dimensional, butterfly-like appearance of the hearts is so cool. Plus, it made me step outside of my comfort zone and try something a little less symmetrical than my standard project.

If you are more of an artist than I, or just good with scissors, a camera, or another artistic medium, and you’d like to donate an item for the auction, you can email Cassie at cassiesmith27 (at) gmail (dot) com. You can also make a donation to Ronald McDonald House in Elijah’s honor just by going to the Ronald McDonald House website. It’s truly an amazing cause. If you’re a Houstonite and you’d like to attend Art for Eli, you can get more information about the event on Facebook.

Linking to the Pinterest Party at YHL, Bower Power Blog & House of Earnest.

13 Comments

Filed under DIY Tips, Projects, The Lottery House

13 responses to “Pinterest Project: Heart Art for a Cause

  1. Lauren R.

    Beautifully done!

  2. Gorgeous! I might have to do this for the next pinterest challenge

  3. Toots

    Wow! So this is what those tiny hands of yours was doing for the past 3 days! Great job, buddy!

  4. Wow! I love this! I’ve seen that too! I just painted pumpkins but your art work is super cute!
    http://www.larysubero.com/wp/?p=3497

  5. First of all I LOVE the name of your blog!!! I also adore the project you did. So cute. Thanks for stopping by my blog…..I was hoping I would not offend anyone with my comments about Donna Decorated Dallas. It just seems like the design concept is so outdated to me????? I just toured your home and all the improvements are wonderful!!!

    • Is it crazy that I feel like a celebrity just showed up on my doorstep?? So excited that you stopped by. I’ve been a long time reader (and shy commenter)… but figured I had to dispel the notion that everyone in Dallas was glittered up to our eyeballs! 🙂 Your blog is hilarious and always so full of inspiration!

  6. You did such a good job! (thats a lot of cutting!)

    Thanks for linking up, I’m so enjoying seeing all the amazing projects!

  7. Thank you Andrea for posting this and linking to the event. We are going to make this a beautiful event in honor of a beautiful little boy. Thank you so much for being a part of that. Hugs!!!!!!!!! you are awesome.

  8. Pingback: Adventures in Sweden | thelotteryhouse

Leave a Reply

