Shiny Happy Acorns Everywhere

With our Halloween mantle complete, I decided it was time to turn my attention to our dining room table. Inspired by a Better Homes and Gardens project a few years back, I gathered up a few handfuls of acorns from our front yard (saving me from tripping over them in the present AND from having to pull the mini-trees they sprout in the future – double bonus).


I started by separating the acorn tops from the bodies. Many of the acorns had already taken care of this step without my help, prompting me to announce, “Our pets’ HEADS are falling off.” Who am I to refuse an opportunity to quote Dumb and Dumber?


Then I put my trigger finger into action with my new favorite spray paint, Krylon’s 14K Gold Plate.

 
In between coats, I rotated the acorns to make sure they were evenly gold and shiny. If you’re going to take on a project like this yourself, be sure to allow ample drying time before rotating your acorns to avoid marring your painted sides. Or you can skip the drying time and chalk the imperfections up to a case of impatience. You know, like I did.


Then I hauled my newly shiny acorns inside to reaffix the tops with my fingerprint-erasing BFF, the hot glue gun. I just added a generous dab in the acorn top, and pressed it carefully onto the body until it cooled. The whole project took less than 30 minutes, and I love the results.


The contrast between the shiny, gold bodies and the natural, rustic acorn tops totally floats my boat. If gold isn’t your flavor, you could rock a different metallic finish, or a fun, bright color like turquoise.

Here they are, perched on a saucer and waiting for some tabletop accompaniment.


Next up, adding some pumpkins to the mix. I grabbed a tall glass cylinder I’d recently purchased from Michael’s (just $7 with my 40% off coupon!) and filled it with last year’s bought-on-clearance mini-pumpkins and gourds. After I transferred my acorns to a tall glass candleholder and placed a few votive candles and extra pumpkins on the table, I stood back to admire my work. Hmm. Very… orange.


This sounded like a job for my go-to helper: spray paint.  The 3 pumpkins perched on the table headed outside with me for a coat of Rustoleum’s Heirloom white. The faux stems pulled right out of the pumpkins, leaving me with a pumpkin that was ready for paint.


I skipped the primer and went right for my top coat. A few well-timed, patiently applied coats of paint later, and they were ready for stem reattachment (a complex scientific procedure that involved jamming the stem back into the pre-made hole).

Insert happy face here, because as far as I’m concerned, these white gourds add just the right amount of contrast to our fall table.


Coming soon-ish: a table runner to break up that long expanse of wood. So unless I get lazy, my oft-ignored sewing machine will finally get a little action.

Did you tackle any fun fall projects this weekend?

The DIY Show Off

11 Comments

Filed under DIY Tips, Projects

11 responses to “Shiny Happy Acorns Everywhere

  1. Pingback: Here, Piggy Piggy | thelotteryhouse

  2. monica lingle

    I absolutely love your blog! I have been reading it for several weeks now and your creativity amazes me! You almost have me motivated to carve out the extra time to tackle and copy your projects 🙂 Keep it coming! Love it!
    Monica

  3. Love it! I am in dire need of some inspiration because I’m having the hardest time finishing my fall dining tablescape! Thank you 🙂

    Found you through the DIY Showoff Parade!

  4. So charming- love these!!! I host Feathered Nest Friday at my blog if you would like to come share sometime! 🙂

  5. Hello…

    Ohhh…how pretty! I would have never thought to spray paint the acorns gold…they look fabulous! And…what a beautiful table centerpiece you have created…it’s gorgeous! Thank you for sharing it with us for the DIY Fall Festival party!

    Warmest autumn wishes,
    Chari

  6. Pingback: Featured on Remodelaholic! | thelotteryhouse

  7. Pingback: Simple & Sweet Holiday Table | thelotteryhouse

Leave a Reply

